0316579661 But, contrite afterwards, he sank to his knees and begged forgiveness."

I majored in English Lit and took grad seminars and I am angry -- why have I never heard of Brian Moore before reading Howard Norman's "Next Life Might Be Kinder", which mentions him? This book was published in 1955.

But I will.Beautifully written, but (and?) The U.S. version was published in 1956 as The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne.

Judith’s clinginess and desperation is awkward to read about if you know someone like that. His father was a surgeon and lecturer, and his mother had been a nurse. It also features a rather marvellous boarding-house setting, an element that generally ticks all the right boxes for me.Take what might be a fairly typical Irish boarding house drama, add a lot of Catholic doubt and guilt plus a forlorn, aging spinster and her awful matron landlady, and this novel is what you'll get. Judith herself expresses fears that are standard fare for novels written in the c.18th century, the Austen era.