My conclusion? It's wrong and says about toomuch words of Arabic language loan words its also wrong. September . That means, OED says the origin of the "lascivious woman" sense of I would collapse the current Etymology 1 and Etymology 2 into a single "origin unknown" section, with the earliest attestations we can find. There is no conclusive proof in what I have quoted above that the 吸頂 part of 吸頂燈 is derived from the sound of English "ceiling", but I think it is quite possible. The Roman year began with March - named for Mars, the God of war because it was the month after the truce.

Added by an anon.

"r, M, j". April was named for Aphrodite.

If it is possible that the word came from a semitic word (Arabic or Hebrew) why would the etymology not mention it ? Tagged but not listed. Hi, I'm new to Wiktionary, so I'm not sure if this question is "how to do X?" Here is how the March 2011 discussion went: May for Maia. shifted the new year back two months. In England, the name replaced native Weodmonað "weed month." April was named for Aphrodite. Septem is Latin for seven. Vocabulaire apparenté par le … Fuaimneachadh. Mansaka tariŋa ear --Can someone please explain what "By regular sound changes it should have become Modern English *chichen; the reason it didn't is unknown." Described as meaning 'city of love', but Persian Wikipedia says it's from اَشک‌آباد which doesn't fit with this, which was added in What is the connection here, given that the Latin entry states that the etymology is unknown?